Regional Partners

Regional Network

The Southwest Institute for Research on Women (SIROW), established in 1979, is a regional research and resource institute within the Gender and Women’s Studies Department at the University of Arizona. SIROW’s mission is to develop, conduct, and disseminate collaborative outreach, education, advocacy, and research projects of importance to diverse women and children in southwest United States and northwest Mexico.

The SIROW region includes Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, Wyoming, and the US-Mexico border region. Included in SIROW’s broader mission is the important role of serving as a regional network resource. In this capacity, SIROW has three complimentary goals: (1) to serve as a clearing house - disseminating information about its regional partners via SIROW’s website, regional newsletters, and annual meetings; (2) to support the advancement of scholarship and research in gender and women’s studies across the region; and (3) to maintain and broaden a network of gender and women’s studies scholars and researchers – solidifying a supportive relationship between students, scholars, researchers and other feminist professionals.

 

ARIZONA

Arizona State University, Women and Gender Studies Program
https://sst.clas.asu.edu/women-and-gender-studies
Lisa Anderson
Arizona State University
Women’s Studies Program
School of Social Transformation
PO Box 6403
Tempe, AZ 85287-6403
 480-965-2356
lmanderson@asu.edu

Northern Arizona University,  Women's and Gender Studies Department
http://nau.edu/sbs/wgs/
Sheila Nair
Northern Arizona University
Women’s Studies
Blg 70 Rm #100C
P.O. Box 5695
Flagstaff, AZ 86011-5695
928-523-0180

Prescott College
http://www.prescott.edu/
Joan Clingan (on sabbatical)
Prescott College
Social Justice and Human Rights
220 Grove Avenue
Prescott, AZ 86301
928-350-3208                                                                                                                                                                                                  jclingan@prescott.edu

University of Arizona, Department of Gender & Women's Studies
http://gws.arizona.edu/
Jadwiga Pieper Mooney (on sabbatical); Jen Croissant (interim head)
University of Arizona
Gender and Women's Studies
925 N Tyndall Ave
PO Box 210438
Tucson, AZ 85721
520-621-5486
Pieper Mooney: jadwiga@email.arizona.edu; Croissant: jlc@email.arizona.edu

University of Arizona, Southwest Institute for Research on Women (SIROW)
http://sirow.arizona.edu/
Josephine D. Korchmaros (Director) and Claudia Powell (Associate Director)
University of Arizona
SIROW
925 N Tyndall Ave
PO Box 210438
Tucson, AZ 85721
Korchmaros: 520-626-9558; Powell; 520-621-2154
jkorch@email.arizona.edu; claudiap@email.arizona.edu

COLORADO

University of Colorado- Boulder, Women’s & Gender Studies
http://wgst.colorado.edu/
Lorraine Bayard de Volo
University of Colorado-Boulder
Women’s Studies & Gender Studies
Hazel Gates Woodruff Cottage
Boulder, CO 80309-0245
303-492-8923
lbdv@colorado.edu

Colorado College, Feminist and Gender Studies
https://www.coloradocollege.edu/academics/dept/feministandgenderstudies/
Tricia L. Waters (Director) and Heidi R. Lewis (Associate Director)
The Colorado College
Feminist and Gender Studies
14 E. Cache La Poudre St.
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Waters: (719) 389-6595; Lewis: (719) 389-6595
twaters@coloradocollege.edu; hlewis@coloradocollege.edu.

University of Colorado-Denver, Women's and Gender Studies Program
http://www.ucdenver.edu/academics/colleges/CLAS/signatureareas/wgst/Pages/Home.aspx
Gillian Silverman
University of Colorado Denver
Women's and Gender Studies Program
Campus Box 175
PO Box 173364
Denver, CO 80217-3364
303-556-4529
gillian.silverman@ucdenver.edu

Colorado State University Pueblo, Women's Studies 
http://chass.csupueblo.edu/womenstudies/Pages/Default.aspx
Marina Cunin-Borer
Women's Studies
Colorado State University-Pueblo
2200 Bonforte Blvd.
Pueblo, CO 81001-4901
719-549-2719
marina.cuninborer@csupueblo.edu

University of Northern Colorado, Gender Studies
http://www.unco.edu/WomensStudies/
Chris Talbot
University of Northern Colorado
Gender Studies
Candelaria Hall, 0140D
Greeley, CO 80639
970-351-2629
Christine.talbot@unco.edu

University of Denver, Gender and Women's Studies
http://www.du.edu/gwst
Lindsey Feitz
University of Denver
Gender and Women's Studies
2000 E Ashbury
Strum Hall 419
Denver, CO 80208
303-871-4419
Lindsey.Feitz@du.edu  

University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, Women's and Ethnic Studies
http://www.uccs.edu/~west/
Andrea Herrera
University of Colorado
Women's and Ethnic Studies
Columbine Hall RM 1025D
Colorado Springs, CO 80933-7150
719-255-4001
aherrera@uccs.edu

Regis University, Women's and Gender Studies
http://www.regis.edu/RC/Academics/Departments-and-Faculty/Womens-and-Gender-Studies.aspx

Geoffrey Bateman
Regis University
Peace and Justice Studies
Loyola Hall 26A
Denver, CO 80221-1099
303-964-6531
gbateman@regis.edu

Colorado State University, Center for Women's Studies and Gender Research
http://womensstudies.colostate.edu/
Caridad Souza
Colorado State University
CWSGR
210A Willard O. Eddy Hall
Ft. Collins, CO 80523
970-491-2882
caridad.souza@colostate.edu

Metropolitan State University of Denver, Institute for Women's Studies and Services
https://www.msudenver.edu/women/
Arlene Sgoutas
Metropolitan State College of Denver
Institute for Women's Studies & Services
Campus Box 36
PO Box 173362
Denver, CO 80217-3362
303-556-8441
sgoutasg@msudenver.edu

Fort Lewis College, Program in Gender and Women's Studies
https://www.fortlewis.edu/gender-womens-studies/
Kathleen Fine-Dare, Director
Fort Lewis College
Department of Anthropology
281 Center of Southwest Studies
Durango, CO 81301-3999
970-247-7516
fine_k@fortlewis.edu

 
MEXICO

El Colegio de Sonora
http://www.colson.edu.mx/
Catalina Denman
El Colegio de Sonora
Avenida Obregon 54
Colonia Centrol, Hermosillo
Sonora, Mexico 83000
011-52-62-12-52-92
011-52-62-12-50-21 (fax)
cdenman@colson.edu.mt

 

NEVADA

University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Women's Research Institute of NV
http://wrin.unlv.edu/index.html
Rebecca Gill
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Women's Research Institute of NV
4505 Maryland Parkway
Box 455083
Las Vegas, NV 89154-5083
702-895-2525
rebecca.gill@unlv.edu

University of Nevada-Reno, Women's Studies
https://www.unr.edu/cla/gri/2-womens_studies.html 
Jen Hill 
Director, Gender Race and Identity Studies 
Chair, Women's Studies 
Mack Social Science MSS 124C
University of Nevada, Reno
Reno, NV 89557-0046
775-682-6480
jmhill@unlv.unr.edu

 

 

NEW MEXICO

New Mexico State University, Women's Studies
https://wsprogram.nmsu.edu/
Laura Anh Williams
New Mexico State University
Women's Studies
PO Box 3001
Las Cruces, NM 88003
505-646-3448
505-646-7601 (fax)
lawill@nmsu.edu

Eastern New Mexico University
http://www.enmu.edu/
Nina G. Bjornsson
Eastern New Mexico University
Language and Literature
Station 19
Portales, NM 88130
505-562-2501
nina.bjornsson@enmu.edu

University of New Mexico, Women's Studies
http://www.unm.edu/~womenst/
Rajeshwari Vallury
University of New Mexico
Women Studies
Mesa Vista Hall 2130
MSC 06-3900
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001
505-277-9119
rvallury@unm.edu

NM Highlands University, Women's Studies
http://www.nmhu.edu/academics/graduate/gscienceandmath/socialandbehavioral/index.aspx
Erica Derkas & Kristie Ross
NM Highlands University
Women's Studies
Las Vegas, NM 87701
505-454-3554
505-454-3331
ederkas@nmhu.edu; kristieross@nmhu.edu

 
TEXAS

Texas Woman's University, Multicultural Women's and Gender Studies
http://www.twu.edu/ws/
Mark Kessler
Multicultural Women's and Gender Studies
P.O. Box 425557
Human Development Building Suite 307
Denton, Texas 76204-5557
940.898.2119
mkessler@twu.edu

University of Texas at El Paso, Women's and Gender Studies
http://academics.utep.edu/Default.aspx?alias=academics.utep.edu/ws
Guillermina Gina Núñez-Mchiri
Women's Studies
Liberal Arts 233
University of Texas at El Paso
El Paso, TX 79968-0526
(915) 747-6529
ggnunez@utep.edu

University of Texas-Austin, Center for Women’s and Gender Studies
http://liberalarts.utexas.edu/cwgs/
Susan Heinzelman
University of Texas-Austin
Center for Women’s and Gender Studies
Burdine Hall 536
2505 University Avenue, A4900
Austin, TX 78705
512-471-5765
sheinz@austin.utexas.edu

University of North Texas, Women's and Gender Studies
http://womensstudies.unt.edu/
Alicia Re Cruz
Unviersity of North Texas
Women's and Gender Studies
GAB 467
Denton, TX 76203-5017
940-565-2532
alicia.recruz@unt.edu

Texas Tech, Women's Studies
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/wstudies/
Charlotte Dunham
Texas Tech University
Women's Studies
Holden Hall 66
Lubbock, Tx 79409-2009
charlotte.dunham@ttu.edu

UTAH

University of Utah, Gender Studies
https://transform.utah.edu/gender-studies/
Susie Porter, Char
Kim Hackford-Peer, Associate Chair
University of Utah
Gender Studies Division
290 South 1500 East.
Bldg. 44, Rm. 210
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0442
801 581 8094
s.porter@utah.edu; kim.hackford-peer@utah.edu 

Brigham Young University, Women's Research Institute
http://womensstudies.byu.edu/
Valerie Hegstrom
Brigham Young University
Women's Research Institute
3148 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602-5548
801-422-4605
valerie_hegstrom@byu.edu

Southern Utah University
http://www.suu.edu/hss/
Kholoud Al Qubbaj
Southern Utah University
Department of History & Sociology
Centrum Bldg, Rm 225P
Cedar City, UT 84720
435-865-8025
samhak@suu.edu

Utah State University, Center for Women & Gender
https://cwg.usu.edu/
Ann Austin
Utah State University
Center for Women and Gender
FL 127 / TSC 309
0186 Old Main Hill
Logan, Utah 84322-0186
435-797-9222
ann.austin@usu.edu

Utah State Historical Society
http://history.utah.gov/
Brad Westwood
Utah State Historical Society
300 Rio Grande
Salt Lake City UT 84101
801-533-3574
bradwestwood@utah.gov

Weber State University, Women and Gender Studies
https://www.weber.edu/womengenderstudies
Alicia Giralt
Weber State College
Women and Gender Studies
2503 University Circle
Ogden, UT 84408-1205
801-626-8049
agiralt@weber.edu

 

WYOMING

University of Wyoming, Gender and Women's Studies
http://www.uwyo.edu/gwst/
Bonnie Zare
University of Wyoming
Gender and Women's Studies
Ross Hall 101
1000 E. University Ave.
Laramie, Wyoming 82071-2000
307-766-3455
bzare@uwyo.edu

 

 

Key Word(s) of the Page: