Regional Partners

Regional Network

The Southwest Institute for Research on Women (SIROW), established in 1979, is a regional research and resource institute within the Gender and Women’s Studies Department at the University of Arizona. SIROW’s mission is to develop, conduct, and disseminate collaborative outreach, education, advocacy, and research projects of importance to diverse women and children in southwest United States and northwest Mexico.

The SIROW region includes Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, Wyoming, and the US-Mexico border region. Included in SIROW’s broader mission is the important role of serving as a regional network resource. In this capacity, SIROW has three complimentary goals: (1) to serve as a clearing house - disseminating information about its regional partners via SIROW’s website, regional newsletters, and annual meetings; (2) to support the advancement of scholarship and research in gender and women’s studies across the region; and (3) to maintain and broaden a network of gender and women’s studies scholars and researchers – solidifying a supportive relationship between students, scholars, researchers and other feminist professionals.

 

ARIZONA

Arizona State University, Women and Gender Studies Program
https://sst.clas.asu.edu/women-and-gender-studies
Lisa Anderson
Arizona State University
Women’s Studies Program
School of Social Transformation
PO Box 6403
Tempe, AZ 85287-6403
 480-965-2356
lmanderson@asu.edu

Northern Arizona University,  Women's and Gender Studies Department
http://nau.edu/sbs/wgs/
Sanjam Ahluwalia
SBS West Building #70
19 West McConnell
PO Box: 5695
Flagstaff, AZ 86011
928-523-5560
sanjam.ahluwalia@nau.edu

Prescott College
http://www.prescott.edu/
Joan Clingan (on sabbatical)
Prescott College
Social Justice and Human Rights
220 Grove Avenue
Prescott, AZ 86301
928-350-3208                                                                                                                                                                                                  jclingan@prescott.edu

University of Arizona, Department of Gender & Women's Studies
http://gws.arizona.edu/
Jen Croissant 
University of Arizona
Gender and Women's Studies
925 N Tyndall Ave
PO Box 210438
Tucson, AZ 85721
520-621-1533
 jlc@email.arizona.edu

University of Arizona, Southwest Institute for Research on Women (SIROW)
http://sirow.arizona.edu/
Josephine D. Korchmaros (Director) and Claudia Powell (Associate Director)
University of Arizona
SIROW
925 N Tyndall Ave
PO Box 210438
Tucson, AZ 85721
Korchmaros: 520-626-9558; Powell; 520-621-2154
jkorch@email.arizona.edu; claudiap@email.arizona.edu

COLORADO

University of Colorado- Boulder, Women’s & Gender Studies
http://wgst.colorado.edu/
Lorraine Bayard de Volo
University of Colorado-Boulder
Women’s Studies & Gender Studies
Hazel Gates Woodruff Cottage
Boulder, CO 80309-0245
303-492-8923
lbdv@colorado.edu

Colorado College, Feminist and Gender Studies
https://www.coloradocollege.edu/academics/dept/feministandgenderstudies/
Colorado College
Feminist and Gender Studies
14 E. Cache La Poudre St.
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
 719-389-6595
 hlewis@coloradocollege.edu.

University of Colorado-Denver, Women's and Gender Studies Program
http://www.ucdenver.edu/academics/colleges/CLAS/signatureareas/wgst/Pages/Home.aspx
Gillian Silverman
University of Colorado Denver
Women's and Gender Studies Program
Campus Box 175
PO Box 173364
Denver, CO 80217-3364
303-315-7843
gillian.silverman@ucdenver.edu

Colorado State University Pueblo, Women's Studies 
http://chass.csupueblo.edu/womenstudies/Pages/Default.aspx
Marina Cunin-Borer
Women's Studies
Colorado State University-Pueblo
2200 Bonforte Blvd.
Pueblo, CO 81001-4901
719-549-2719
marina.cuninborer@csupueblo.edu

University of Northern Colorado, Gender Studies
http://www.unco.edu/WomensStudies/
Chris Talbot
University of Northern Colorado
Gender Studies
Candelaria Hall, 0140D
Greeley, CO 80639
970-351-2629
Christine.talbot@unco.edu

University of Denver, Gender and Women's Studies
http://www.du.edu/gwst
Lindsey Feitz
University of Denver
Gender and Women's Studies
2000 E Ashbury
Strum Hall 419
Denver, CO 80208
303-871-4419
Lindsey.Feitz@du.edu  

University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, Women's and Ethnic Studies
http://www.uccs.edu/~west/
Andrea Herrera
University of Colorado
Women's and Ethnic Studies
Columbine Hall RM 1025D
Colorado Springs, CO 80933-7150
719-255-4001
aherrera@uccs.edu

Regis University, Women's and Gender Studies
http://www.regis.edu/RC/Academics/Departments-and-Faculty/Womens-and-Gender-Studies.aspx

Erin Winterrowd (Director)
Regis University
Psychology and Neuroscience
Denver, CO 80221-1099
303-964-5295
ewinterrowd@regis.edu

Colorado State University, Center for Women's Studies and Gender Research
http://womensstudies.colostate.edu/
Caridad Souza
Colorado State University
CWSGR
210A Willard O. Eddy Hall
Ft. Collins, CO 80523
970-491-2882
caridad.souza@colostate.edu

Metropolitan State University of Denver, Gender Institute for Teaching and Advocacy
https://msudenver.edu/gita/ 
Katherine (Kat) Martinez, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Interim Director/Chair
Gender, Women, and Sexualities Studies
Gender Institute for Teaching and Advocacy
Metropolitan State University of Denver
Campus Box 36
PO Box 173362
Denver, CO 80217-3362
kmart128@msudenver.edu
 

Fort Lewis College, Program in Gender and Sexuality Studies
https://www.fortlewis.edu/gender-womens-studies/ 
Sarah Roberts-Cady and Cory Pillen, Co-Coordinators
Roberts-Cady, Department of Philosophy
Pillen, Department of Art and Design 
Fort Lewis College
1000 Rim Drive
Durango, CO 81301-3999
970-247-7002
roberts_s@fortlewis.edu
cjpillen@fortlewis.edu

 
MEXICO

El Colegio de Sonora
http://www.colson.edu.mx/
Catalina Denman
El Colegio de Sonora
Avenida Obregon 54
Colonia Centrol, Hermosillo
Sonora, Mexico 83000
011-52-62-12-52-92
011-52-62-12-50-21 (fax)
cdenman@colson.edu.mt

 

NEVADA

University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Women's Research Institute of NV
http://wrin.unlv.edu/index.html
Rebecca Gill
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Women's Research Institute of NV
4505 Maryland Parkway
Box 455083
Las Vegas, NV 89154-5083
702-895-2525
rebecca.gill@unlv.edu

University of Nevada-Reno, Women's Studies
https://www.unr.edu/cla/gri/2-womens_studies.html 
Jen Hill 
Director, Gender Race and Identity Program and Women's Studies 
University of Nevada, Reno
1664 N. Virginia Street/ MS 0046
Reno, NV 89557-0046
775-682-6484
jmhill@unr.edu

 

NEW MEXICO

New Mexico State University, Women's Studies
https://wsprogram.nmsu.edu/
Laura Anh Williams
New Mexico State University
Women's Studies
PO Box 3001
Las Cruces, NM 88003
505-646-3448
505-646-7601 (fax)
lawill@nmsu.edu

Eastern New Mexico University
http://www.enmu.edu/
Nina G. Bjornsson
Eastern New Mexico University
Language and Literature
Station 19
Portales, NM 88130
505-562-2501
nina.bjornsson@enmu.edu

Western New Mexico University
https://socialsciences.wnmu.edu/undergrad/wgs/
Emma G. Bailey, Ph.D.
Western New Mexico University
Department of Social Sciences, Gender and Women’s Studies
1000 W. College Avenue
PO Box 680
Silver City, NM  88062
575.538.6824 (o) / 575.538.5478 (c)
Emma.Bailey@wnmu.edu

University of New Mexico, Women's Studies
http://www.unm.edu/~womenst/
Rajeshwari Vallury
University of New Mexico
Women Studies
Mesa Vista Hall 2130
MSC 06-3900
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001
505-277-9119
rvallury@unm.edu

New Mexico Highlands University, Women's Studies
http://www.nmhu.edu/academics/graduate/gscienceandmath/socialandbehavioral/index.aspx
Erica Derkas & Kristie Ross
NM Highlands University
Women's Studies
Las Vegas, NM 87701
505-454-3554
505-454-3331
ederkas@nmhu.edu; kristieross@nmhu.edu

 
TEXAS

Texas Woman's University, Multicultural Women's and Gender Studies
http://www.twu.edu/ws/
Mark Kessler (on sabbatical)
Multicultural Women's and Gender Studies
P.O. Box 425557
Human Development Building Suite 307
Denton, Texas 76204-5557
940.898.2119
mkessler@twu.edu

University of Texas El Paso, Women's and Gender Studies
http://academics.utep.edu/Default.aspx?alias=academics.utep.edu/ws
Guillermina Gina Núñez-Mchiri
Women's Studies
Liberal Arts 233
University of Texas at El Paso
El Paso, TX 79968-0526
(915) 747-6529
ggnunez@utep.edu

University of Texas Austin, Center for Women’s and Gender Studies
http://liberalarts.utexas.edu/cwgs/
Susan Heinzelman
University of Texas-Austin
Center for Women’s and Gender Studies
Burdine Hall 536
2505 University Avenue, A4900
Austin, TX 78705
512-471-5765
sheinz@austin.utexas.edu

University of Texas Arlington
http://www.uta.edu/womens-studies/
Dustin Harp
223 University Hall
Box 19579
Arlington, TX 76019
817-272-3131
dustinh@uta.edu 

University of North Texas, Women's and Gender Studies
http://womensstudies.unt.edu/
Alicia Re Cruz
Unviersity of North Texas
Women's and Gender Studies
GAB 467
Denton, TX 76203-5017
940-565-2532
alicia.recruz@unt.edu

Texas Tech University, Women's Studies
http://www.depts.ttu.edu/wstudies/
Elizabeth Sharp
Texas Tech University
Women's Studies
Holden Hall 66
Lubbock, Tx 79409-2009
elizabeth.sharp@ttu.edu

Southern Methodist University

Josephine Caldwell-Ryan
Southern Methodist University
Women's and Gender Studies Program 
PO Box 750227 Dallas TX 75275-0227 
214-768-3612

UTAH

University of Utah, Gender Studies
https://transform.utah.edu/gender-studies/
Susie Porter, Chair
Kim Hackford-Peer, Associate Chair
University of Utah
Gender Studies Division
290 South 1500 East.
Bldg. 44, Rm. 210
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0442
801 581 8094
s.porter@utah.edu; kim.hackford-peer@utah.edu 

Brigham Young University, Women's Research Institute
http://womensstudies.byu.edu/
Valerie Hegstrom
Brigham Young University
Women's Research Institute
3148 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602-5548
801-422-4605
valerie_hegstrom@byu.edu

Southern Utah University
https://www.suu.edu/hss/hsa/womenandgenderstudies/ 
Shobha Hamal Gurung
Southern Utah University
Department of Sociology
Centrum Bldg, Rm 225H
Cedar City, UT 84720
435-586-5461
samhak@suu.edu

Utah State University, Center for Women & Gender
https://cwg.usu.edu/
Ann Austin
Utah State University
Center for Women and Gender
FL 127 / TSC 309
0186 Old Main Hill
Logan, Utah 84322-0186
435-797-9222
ann.austin@usu.edu

Utah State Historical Society
http://history.utah.gov/
Brad Westwood
Utah State Historical Society
300 Rio Grande
Salt Lake City UT 84101
801-533-3574
bradwestwood@utah.gov

Weber State University, Women and Gender Studies
https://www.weber.edu/womengenderstudies
Alicia Giralt
Weber State College
Women and Gender Studies
2503 University Circle
Ogden, UT 84408-1205
801-626-8049
agiralt@weber.edu

 

WYOMING

University of Wyoming, Gender and Women's Studies
http://www.uwyo.edu/gwst/
Susan Dewey
University of Wyoming
Gender and Women's Studies
Ross Hall 101
1000 E. University Ave.
Laramie, Wyoming 82071-2000
307-766-3455
sdewey3@uwyo.edu

 

 

Key Word(s) of the Page: